Reacttify

React-ify Summer

It must be cleared from the title “React-ify Summer” that we are going to talk about react — a JavaScript library which is developed and maintained by Facebook for developing front-end web applications.

I am writing this to share my experience during my summer vacations, well I am an engineering student and we get semester breaks after a long wait of 5–6 months and we all wait for that as we get to visit our home.

We almost get 1–2 months time during summer and this can be utilized to gain and sharpen your skills. I decided to work on with Android Development during my summer break and everything was as usual up till I meet Tanay Pratap on Instagram which totally changed my plans and I was introduced to React and mern stack.

Well for those who don’t know Tanay Pratap let me introduce him, he is a Software Engineer at Microsoft, India Bangalore and working on Teams for Microsoft. He is contributing to the society by making free contents on programming especially on MERN stack follow him on learncodingfree.org for learning MERN stack.

Statistics

This is a result of a survey conducted by StackOverflow showing the demand of languages during 2019 so JavaScript is at the top notch.

I started following his content and first learned HTML and CSS basics and made beginner portfolio by following Tanay's content.

These things simply impressed me and reflected a ‘WOW’ at my face that this is so simple yet attractive.

After that I started learning JavaScript and made my first web app using JavaScript.This boosted me and I tried learning more and more and after that, I made my portfolio and published it.

“A little Learning is a Dangerous Thing.” ― Alexander Pope

So I started learning more and more and did a course on JavaScript, HTML, and CSS from edx.org after that the real magic begins.

I started with react, Tanay Pratap keeps posting contents on learning and keeps us motivating especially on Instagram that is what keeps us going and not stop by feeling lazy.

I followed official react documentation and then made tic-tac-toe using React.

I attended a live session delivered by Tanay on YouTube on React which again motivated me to learn more and more.

After which I made this react app and learned the concepts.

There is a story behind making this app I had to scratch my head while making this as I was unable to make the message notification part.I tried to search it on Google how to make it using react but still, I was unable to find how it is made.

I then thought of looking at the already made site using react and how they have made each component, I then googled “templates made using react” and got a good result. I came to know of a module React-Bootstrapwhich help us make those components I quickly had a look at its documentation and finally made the notification part of my app and published it.


Currently, I am enrolled in Udacity’s react nano-degree program and learning react in advance form.

Now it was a lot of development throughout the summer so to take a break I read a book by Varun Mayya named “ Pyjama Profit” which is based on how to start with freelancing and really motivates you to choose your career.


I would recommend everyone to follow Tanay Pratap on social media platforms and join him on learncodingfree and read the book “Pyjama Profit”.

Follow me Linkedin Facebook Instagram at Kanishk Gupta

This article was originally written at Medium